Herbal Hair Shine

www.4haircare.com.au Final Rinses

I’ve read quite a few blogs that recommend using packaged herbal, black or green tea blends as a final rinse. Herbal hair rinses can be used in place of conditioner for some and are also wonderful for those who are sensitive to shampoos and conditioners. The acidic nature of herbal hair rinses gently cleanse, condition, and strengthen the hair and scalp.

The first few months into my natural lifestyle revamping, I did the packaged tea blends. And as much as I liked the convenience of just popping a tea bag into the water without much fuss on my end, I found I wasn’t getting exactly what my hair needed.

My dry hair needs herbs that help moisturize and add smooth for detangling..I don’t need herbs that are added strictly for flavoring. So, after a few months, I studied the properties of organic herbs I found at my health food store and mixed my own “teas”. Now my hair is thriving. This is, hands down, my favorite DIY tip.

What you will need:

Marshmallow root
Horsetail
Rosemary
Sage
Ginger

1 pint glass jar or larger
2 large mixing bowls (one larger than the other)

Slow cooker or stove top pot

I decided to cook the herbs in a slow cooker versus steep them in boiling water on the stove. This created a concentrated herbal rinse which is what I wanted. Either method is effective. If you choose to steep the herbs, allow them to marinate for at least 30 minutes to an hour or more.

I used 4 tablespoons of marshmallow root and 1 tablespoon of horsetail, rosemary, sage, and ginger, then added as much distilled water as my slow cooker would allow. I slow cooked the herbs for a few hours, cooled and strained the herbs in my glass jar, then added about 5 drops of rosemary essential oil.

After saturating my loosely braided hair with water in the shower. I then proceeded to use the double bowl method to use the rinse. Place the smaller bowl inside the large bowl and put them on a counter or floor with a towel underneath. Flip your hair upside down and slowly pour the herbal rinse on your hair and into the small bowl. You can now pour the rinse back into the jar and repeat continuously until your hair fills saturated and clean. This was the most soothing hair cleansing method I’ve tried to date and the fresh smell of the herbs was intoxicating. Felt like a nourishing spa treatment.

This rinse is a pH of 5, and will remove excess oils from your hair and scalp without stripping your hair. My hair felt soft and clean and was easily de-tangled using my new tangle free method. I followed by applying a mix of hemp, castor, and grapeseed oil to almost dry hair since I ran out of my beloved argan oil. Here’s a brief description of the herbs I used and a few others to try based on your hair care needs.

herbal-hair-loss-remedy

Marshmallow root–natural detangler and conditioner
Horsetail
–mineral rich with silica to promote hair growth and hair elasticity
Rosemary
–stimulates scalp circulation, fights dandruff, promotes hair growth
Sage
–keeps hair dark, fights grey
Ginger
–increases scalp circulation, combats hair loss
Comfrey root
–moisturizes dry scalp and hair
Elder flowers
–gives lustrous shine to hair and hydration
Watercress
–great for oily hair by removing soap and oil residue, contains minerals, iron, and phosphorus
Strawberry leaf
–also wonderful for oily hair
White willow bark
–clears dandruff and sebum buildup
Nettle
–increases healthy hair growth and manageability
Peppermint
–improves scalp circulation
Catnip
–promotes healthy hair by preventing split ends while conditioning hair (only need 1 tsp when using)
Basil
–promotes healthy hair growth
Burdock root
–increases shine and gives body to limp hair, soothes dry scalp, and combats hair loss
Marjoram
–softens hair while strengthening hair strands

www.4haircare.com.au

Leave a Reply

